PDA

View Full Version : Stall Converters



CrimsonGTP
05-10-2010, 08:03 AM
okay someone explain this to me. i understand that from a dig you would floor it and it would just go to that size RPM IE 3600 stall 4000 stall etc but how the hell does this help you from a roll? Woody? someone else who is a car nerd? explain plz.

and i ask this here because on ls1 they would be like YOU ARE A FAIL

WoodburyMan
05-10-2010, 08:10 AM
YOU ARE A FAIL

WoodburyMan
05-10-2010, 08:20 AM
Really though, I'm not to sure. I know people go back and forth on what launch RPM is best in sticks all the time, different for every engine generally and if you have massive mods it changes. My figuring is if you can get it to the sweet spot RPM, when you dump the clutch, you can get moving a bit before the gear is fully engaged, and when it's fully engaged you are moving slightly so the RPM's are higher and you can get zooming faster. The auto transmission must be doing it automatically or something?????? I dont know really at all early monday morning typing.

CrimsonGTP
05-10-2010, 10:41 AM
hahaha! well shit, i still dont want one as people say even mid grade stalls 3600 or so will take ur city mpg to like 10 haha

WoodburyMan
05-10-2010, 10:45 AM
*cough* should have got 6 speed *cough* :D


(really though, don't have to worry about it with a Stick and you can way better MPG :D My buddy had a '04 Auto and only averaged like 14-15mpg with it, 50/50 highway/city.... I get average of 19-20 with like.. 35% highway 65% "city" (I say city even though its wide open roads because i'm in a very hilly area)

zlatsky
05-10-2010, 10:47 AM
you have an auto gto you're not allowed to worry about gas mileage.

CrimsonGTP
05-10-2010, 10:53 AM
oh I am!! and my last tank of gas my avg mpg was 21.2 so SUCK IT

zlatsky
05-10-2010, 10:56 AM
highway :lol:

if you want to feel better you can talk to my buddy about gas mileage when he had the turbo 400 in his. 8mpg. everywhere. no matter what. :lol:

WoodburyMan
05-10-2010, 10:57 AM
highway :lol:

if you want to feel better you can talk to my buddy about gas mileage when he had the turbo 400 in his. 8mpg. everywhere. no matter what. :lol:
OM NOM NOM NOM FUEEEEL OM NOM NOM


Likewise Erik, you're in flatsville LOL if my town was like the typical midwest I'd get like 22-23.

CrimsonGTP
05-10-2010, 11:03 AM
highway :lol:

if you want to feel better you can talk to my buddy about gas mileage when he had the turbo 400 in his. 8mpg. everywhere. no matter what. :lol:
OM NOM NOM NOM FUEEEEL OM NOM NOM


Likewise Erik, you're in flatsville LOL if my town was like the typical midwest I'd get like 22-23.
ya ya right :stacy: :stacy: :stacy:

leong6gtp
05-10-2010, 04:40 PM
WTF is MPG? Lololol

[ Post made via Mobile Device ] http://www.g6performance.com/phpBB3/images/mobile.png

WoodburyMan
05-10-2010, 04:57 PM
WTF is MPG? Lololol

[ Post made via Mobile Device ] http://www.g6performance.com/phpBB3/images/mobile.png
Yea. GTO's thing of gas in gallon/hour :lol:

zlatsky
05-10-2010, 05:38 PM
The lowest the gto DIC can go is 2.3 or 3.2mpg :lol:

killiger2009
05-10-2010, 06:56 PM
dude get a low low stall because its how much torque put to the ground at low and mid rpms if im not mistaken then you get a quicker take off and itll throw u back in ur seat like a mofo lol

stevey722
05-10-2010, 07:48 PM
:willy:

mi04se1
05-10-2010, 09:36 PM
Alittle OT, but I should get a license plate that says "MPGLOL".

CrimsonGTP
05-10-2010, 09:47 PM
Alittle OT, but I should get a license plate that says "MPGLOL".
actually im getting "GTOMG" in december since i have natl guard plates and i can only have 5 chars.

ElecBlueG6GT
05-29-2010, 06:22 AM
I have a 3200 Circle D torque converter in my G8.
You lose a little driveability with it as it takes a little more pedal to get the car moving.
The stock torque converter flashes around 1800 rpms.
Once I nail it though, the torque is there. It also holds the rpms during shifts which is close to my peak torque.
Pick a stall that is close to your peak torque.

dre256
05-29-2010, 10:10 AM
I was looking into putting a torque convertor into my G6 before. I did alot of research, on a stock engine 90% of the time its pointless. First like mentioned you lose drivablility, 2nd you MPG will go down, next you should really install an aftermarket tranny cooler becuase of the incressed heat on your tranny.

What they are mostly for is engine mods like a cam that incresses your torque maybe to a higher RPM band because you have a high end cam. Depending where the LS2 generages most of its torque you might be jumping a tad over that band. One of my friends that has a G8 GT and is on one of the G8 boards told me that a guy over there was pist because he put too big of a torque convertor on his competely stock engine and he lost I think he said .5 off of his 0-60 times off the line. So that means he took a G8 GT from 0-60 in 5.3 seconds to 5.8 seconds, its now slower then a stock GP GXP off the line.

Next thing is if you have issues like I do being FWD and the 3900 having so much torque in the low RPMs I have issues with traction esp with TC off, that problem will be magnified alot. So you do a stall converter need to make sure your tires are up to the traction also or you might want to upgrade your tires too.

Aaronglity
09-20-2017, 05:21 PM
What about stall convertors for a 1989 SER5 RX7 13b Turbo Auto????
or do you actuall sell and VAC kits ETC