3.5 Spark Plug Change HELP!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 3.5 Spark Plug Change HELP!!

So I am pretty new to the car world. I have a 2006 G6 GT coupe Its at about 89,000 miles. I am wanting to change the plugs now before it gets to cold here in Ohio and the garage is unbearable. I am looking for tips and tricks the rear plugs look like they are going to be "fun" to get at. I already order the stock AC delcos so no worries there. I am just looking for tips and tricks (possibly directions ). Remember I'm a noob! please Help!!!

Thanks!

Re: 3.5 Spark Plug Change HELP!!

Help please!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Comment

your best bet is to remove the coil packs and all plug wires (being careful to remember where they go..........which is what i did and it may help to remove the serpentine belt so you can unbolt the alternator and move it to the side but all i did was remove the coil packs oh and undo the brake booster hose off the back of the intake manifold

Comment

Great Thanks! Also, after hand twisting the plugs in, how much torque should I apply to the plugs to make sure they are in all the way.

Comment

they just need to be tight, you could torque them to the specs but good luck getting a giant torque wrench down there. Just tighten them til they're nice and tight but don't overtighten them because you'll risk breaking the plugs at the base
          TRADED IN BUT NEVER FORGOTTEN: 2006 GT Coupe in granite metallic, 15/5% tint, vinyl side marker deletes, Doctor Speed Stage 3 CAI, RED calipers by DupliColor, RED LED interior lights, 45 LED tail lights, WideView 8000K HID coversion kit, Nokya Artic White fogs installed, running MoBil 1, FIRST ever granite metallic color matched headlights!! Color matched eyelids just finished! GT-R Exhaust installed. R1 Concepts drilled and slotted zinc plated front rotors.

Comment

Can it do any damage if they are not torqued to spec?

Comment