Underdash LED setup/installation assistance

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Underdash LED setup/installation assistance

I'm trying to install my LEDs for under my dash, but alas I am no mechanic and not the most savvy person when it comes to some things, so I'll but up the stuff that I need help with.

Ok, Here is a picture of 1 out of the 4 LEDs:

Questions:
    1. How do I access the fuse box for my radio, which is what they recommend I use?
    2. Is it ever necessary to disconnect the negative battery terminal or can I install my LEDs without dismantling half my car?
    3. They say use a metal bolt for the ground, however I am not aware of where any bolts would be that would be the closest. Where would the closest bolt be?
    4. Are 4 of these LEDs going to cover the driver side only or the driver and passenger sides?

Information that might be helpful to know:
    1. I have 4 LEDs
    2. I have 5 feet of extra red wire
    3. I have an on/off switch

Re: Underdash LED setup/installation assistance

I can't see the picture, but I can tell you where your fuse box is. Its on the passenger side behind the piece of plastic secured against the center console. You'll see the fuse logo on it. Its attached with super velcro.
    Current: Kicker L7 12" with Sundown Amp, DrS CAB, GT-R Exhaust, 93 VMS ECU, red LED interior, 20% tint all around, blinging wheels, Red Calipers, tinted tails, angel eyes, 8000k HIDs, Eibachs Pro Springs, MPD Hood, custom mounted front door speakers

August East Coast Meet Thread

Comment

Ok, I know where the fuse box is, and I see a removable panel on the driver side as well, so I think I can run wires and everything between the driver and passenger side all through that middle section, correct me if I'm wrong.

Also, where is a good place for the ground? (the whole, unscrew the bolt and then rescrew it etc). I see one here:

However, I am not sure if that is unscrewable/if that is an acceptable ground/whatever.