Auto dimming rearview mirror with compass

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Auto dimming rearview mirror with compass

I'm a newb, I spend most of my time on other forums related to offroading...

Most of you have probably seen the tried and true Gentex 177 mirror with autodimming, temperature, and compass.

Probably the next most common is the GenK5. Same thing, no temperature though.

I just bought a new 07 G6 V6 and it came without one. I couldn't believe it when I was driving home in the dark. Even my 99 Silverado came with it standard on the LS trim. The temperature sensor didn't come on the LS trim though...

You can even get ones with map lights built into them.

But anyway...

Anyone know if GM was kind enough to string a wiring harness up there already? If so, is it the standard 7 pin or do they string up a 26,000 pin one up there for OnStar?

I need to get a mirror with autodimming and a compass in there. Never realized how important they are until you don't have them.
    wrath.com - just a bunch of nonsense in need of work
    2008 Pontiac G5 - Trailer Trash Mommy Mobile
    2007 Pontiac G6 V6 Sedan - Grandma Grocery Getter
    1999 NBS Chevrolet Silverado ECSB Z71 - Locked Grandpa Grocery Getter
    1987 Chevrolet longbox fleetside 2wd 1/2 ton - Or that's what the VIN says it is
    1984 Chevrolet K10 - ColoradoK5 "Rigs of CK5 2005 Calendar" November Rig

I believe Interfire has one, maybe he'll chime in here. There's a few people who have installed one so it shouldn't be too hard to find the info you need.

Comment

Do a search, I have one Monteracer has one...

Etc...
      Mine - 2006 Black Grand Prix GXP

Comment

Originally posted by EmersonHart13
        Do a search, I have one Monteracer has one...

Etc...
        I found this one by monteracer last week. I know how to install a mirror, I've got an autodimming one with map lights in the rig you see as my avatar.