X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Does the Saab 9-3 Belong?

Read this article in the paper today:

http://www.canada.com/nationalpost/news ... 3a5fecb67b

I don't know if we're talking similar parts to the Chev/Pontiac/Saturn models built off the same platform. There is even a 4-whee-drive model coming.
    Trust me, I'm a professional!

Yes the Saab is built on the same platform. I think the 2008 Saab may be on Epsilon II though.

Now reading the article, they don't say anything nice about the six speed (F40) either. You'll note that they have the F40 mounted up to the 2.8l (same engine family as the 3.6l), which indicates that they could drop it into the G6 GTP's with the 3.6l without too much trouble if they wanted to.

sigpic
    Mobil 1 | Doctorspeed Stage 3 & 4 CAI | CRABS | Sacchi S45 245 Black 18" Rims | 6000k HID Headlights + Fogs | GT-R Exhaust | 20% Tint | Pioneer AppRadio 2

Comment

I was thinking some of the same thoughts TLS2000... it's another example of where parts for our G6 might be sourced. The 9-3 seems to have about the same horsepower/torque as our cars, so I don't think a transmission swap is going to gain much for anyone.

Comment

Originally posted by GraniteGrey
        I was thinking some of the same thoughts TLS2000... it's another example of where parts for our G6 might be sourced. The 9-3 seems to have about the same horsepower/torque as our cars, so I don't think a transmission swap is going to gain much for anyone.
        For 07 GTPs though, it would mean the possibility of 252hp with a manual. Not a bad combo. Of course, you'd have to see how the ratios perform with the 3.6L's torque curve.

- Black/Black, Leather, Monsoon, Panoramic
        - Painted Headlights, 35% Tint, Silver Emblem Overlays
        - DS S3 Intake
        - CarDomain link: http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2907956/1

Comment