battery relocation

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• battery relocation

searched and didnt find anything, thinking about moving the battery to the trunk and just wondering if anyone else has done this and what all is involved, also would be nice to free up some engine space and perhaps move the intake around to that side
    custom 2.5” cat-back with magnaflow single in and out, alpine Type-R 12”, Alpine MRP m650

If the doc sees this, he may tell you what is involved, as he's done it.

That said, it's really not that hard to do, run some low gauge wire from the engine bay to the trunk. Hook the wire up to the positive of the battery. Ground the battery in the trunk. Ground the negative wire at the front of the car to the frame.

I'm not an expert at this, but that's how I'd do it.

sigpic
    Mobil 1 | Doctorspeed Stage 3 & 4 CAI | CRABS | Sacchi S45 245 Black 18" Rims | 6000k HID Headlights + Fogs | GT-R Exhaust | 20% Tint | Pioneer AppRadio 2

Comment

why do people do this??
      -Lucy-
      2006 Silver Gt Coupe
      3.5 l v6, alloy 17"s
      sun and sound package, leather package.

Cardomain Site:
      http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2663987

Comment

Originally posted by kgeier82
        why do people do this??
        A few reasons......

free up room under engine bay
        Project just to spend time with the car
        Some people like it as it more evenly disrtibutes the wieght in the car from hood to trunk as a batery can be 25 LBS
        2006 G6 GTP: Traded

2013 Mustang GT
        Gotta have it Green color
        Brembo brake package
        420 HP 5.0L
        Ford Racing Power Pack
        GT500 track pack differential cover
        BOSS 302 oil cooler, JLT oil separator

Comment

Oh, you'll also need to secure the battery in the trunk. That's an important step.

sigpic