Conversion to Mobil 1!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Conversion to Mobil 1!

Today I went to my local oil place and switched to synthetic. I read the threads here and I gave it some serious thought on a cost basis (I am a financial analyst). Here are the reasons why I switched...

1. 7k miles between oil changes
    2. Better engine performance
    3. Increased gas mileage
    4. cleaner engine
    5. Cost

Now, it sounds strange that I switched because of cost. But an average oil change every 3k miles is almost 35 bucks for a high quality oil vs. 60 bucks every 7k miles with mobil 1. On top of the cost benefits I can also feel good about taking the best car of my vehicle. I know that in a year I will get a newer vehicle but I take pride in what I have and hope that the person I pass the car onto will appreciate my efforts. It never hurts to have a higher resale value because you took exceptional care of your car!

I must say, with the switch I can DEFINENTLY feel a difference in performance and it was the easiest mod I could have ever done.

Thanks for all the great info everyone has contributed, it made the choice to switch very easy! :warped:
    2006 GTP Sedan, Black, 18% Carbon Tint All Around...
    The G-Spot

Dont go 7k. I really wouldn't. After working at a few Lube places and doing MANY MANY MANY oil changes... and doing my homework, synthetic breaks down too. Your only good for "7k" under normal driving conditions. Meaning, windows up, no a/c, on the highway, 55 mph... always. Stop and go driving is "severe" and therefore the intervals are more frequent. I do 3k. Period. With Mobil 1 synthetic. Oil life monitors can't detect oil impurities.

Oh, as far as my opinion. I stick with M1 5w30 through and through. I'll never use anything else in my G6.

(Actually, I think theres quite a few threads on this topic)
    2007 G5 Base Model
    Black 5 Speed