Serpentine Belt

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Serpentine Belt

Changed my belt last weekend. Ended up putting a Gatorback on.

I discovered that the tensioner is in a horrible place. Couldn't get any of my tools in to loosen the tension. Went to Canadian Tire for their "borrow a tool" program and apperently they don't loan out breaker bars anymore. Ended up buying a 3/8" tool for $30 just to get into it.

PartSource sold me the wrong belt, based on what their computer said the car needed. I didn't discover that untli I had the old belt off. When I took my dad's car and went to return it she asked if I'd given them the right information on the vehicle (I was a parts manager for 2 years! lol). I said yes, and told her the compute was wrong. The belt they sold me was 3ft too short. They didn't have the Gatorback in stock, so I had to drive to the next city over to get it.

Once I got the proper belt, it took me almost an hour to install it. Even with my air box removed, there is maybe 3/4" of space between the engine and the frame. I have huge hands and had to "negotiate" with the belt for that time to get it around the crank pulley.

Anyway, the result is, I have a new belt. My AC compressor has stopped chattering at idle. I'm happy.

sigpic
    Mobil 1 | Doctorspeed Stage 3 & 4 CAI | CRABS | Sacchi S45 245 Black 18" Rims | 6000k HID Headlights + Fogs | GT-R Exhaust | 20% Tint | Pioneer AppRadio 2

Re: Serpentine Belt

all 10 fingers?

Remember if "the" and "and" are spelled right its not a genuine Ahuhn post

Dear God, please send clothes to all those poor ladies in Daddy's computer. Amen.
    Originally posted by snowmanG6
    you would try to tape a poptart to her then give her a bag a skittles and tell her to fart a rainbow

Comment

Originally posted by ahuhn View Post
      all 10 fingers?
      I'm proud to say I didn't pull an ahuhn! Seriously though, I couldn't get my hands in there.

sigpic