Convertible Braces

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Convertible Braces

I've heard a lot of stuff about the strut tower brace (Malibu part), and I wondered if any of the convertible's additional bracing might be installed onto a coupe or sedan. Yep, I've read about the exhaust restrictions from the 3.9L causing a drop in power... but I don't recall anything about the 3.5L being robbed of power.

So, anyone know if the convertible's bracing could be added to a 3.5 or Ecotec G6? Would it do anything other than add weight?

Take Care,
    GraniteGrey
    Trust me, I'm a professional!

Convertibles need the extra bracing because the car doesn't have the strength of the hard top.
    If you have a sedan, then the tower strut brace will help the flexing of the strut towers under cornering. It has nothing to do with engine performance.
    G6P member 340

G8 GT 334 0f 1st 888
    Pedders Street II suspension. Pedders Strut Tower bar. VMS HSRK, VMS PCM/TCM tune, Forged and Stroked LS3, Garrett Turbo
    Borla Cat back. SLP underdrive pulley. FAST ported 102 intake and TB ported. BMR trailing arms, Circle D 3200 stall converter.
    20 percent tint by Scott's tinting and graphics.

Comment

Maybe I wasn't clear

I guess my point has been missed here.

Let's assume for a moment that you've got a sedan or coupe, and you've already added the strut tower brace. Yep, that stiffens-up the car a bit more than stock. It'd probably help with the convertible too.

Now, I understand that the convertible's bracing is meant to help with chassis stiffness because there is no roof structure. What if the same braces from the convertible were added to your sedan or coupe. Obviously, this will make the car stiffer than stock too - you'll have both the roof and the braces.