Tips for brakes on '06 GTP

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tips for brakes on '06 GTP

Just got my G6 last week and I'm getting ready to do a complete brake job, but I've never done it before so I'm wondering how hard it really is. I've done work on vehicles, but never brakes. Searching on here it sounds like its not too bad. I've got a Haynes manual that shows the process pretty well, but anyone have any thoughts on things to watch out for? Parts I should have on hand?

Planning on doing:
    New rotors (cquence?)
    New pads
    Fluid Change

The part I'm not thrilled about is the fluid change. I'm thinking about just doing the rotors and pads and then bringing it in somewhere to change the fluid.

Re: Tips for brakes on '06 GTP

Originally posted by jp375
    I'm thinking about just doing the rotors and pads and then bringing it in somewhere to change the fluid.
    That's what I did. Brakes are much more simple than people think. Two bolt for the caliper, compress it, insert new pads, two bolts.

That's it.

G6 - 240sx - Lancer - 325is - WRX

Comment

Front brakes are super easy just pop the caliper off and pull rotators.

Rears are a little more difficult, as you have to turn the piston on the calipers back in rather than squeezing them, you can pick up a tool for this, but I just used some pliers.
      Traded: 2006 Pontiac G6 GTP M6 Coupe... 45% front tint, 35% rear tint - EBC Slotted Rotors with Red Stop pads on all four corners

Arrived: 2009 Saturn Aura XR, Carbon Flash Metallic, 6-Speed Automatic. 35% Tint All-Around OH -SO-SMOOTH!

Comment

its easy, but time consuming. if your doing a fluid change yourself, just open the bleeder valve on each caliper and press the brakes, at the same time you are adding in the new fluid. when the fluid changes color and new fluid is blead out, your done. its time consuming, but very important to bleed them properly.
        2006 Pontiac G6 V6-Too many mods-Traded In(RIP 2006-2010)