Help with Exhaust options please.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with Exhaust options please.

I know, I know another exhaust thread. Sorry, but after reading every one I could find, and watching / listening to every GT-R (or other setup's) audio and video clips, I still need help.

Vilmar5 has a great 10 minute+ video of the GT-R system After listening to that thing over and over and over I learned two things.

1) I love the GT-R system
    2) It's too loud (outside of the car) For Me when you jump on it.

What can I do to get a Performance boost from an Exhaust system, and not wake my neighbors up? I came up with these idea’s, but being a car mod newbie I don’t know if they will do what I want..

- Remove the resonator from my Stock GTP
    - Get the GT-R system and add a round muffler where resonator was
    - Copy Kman’s & Fritz03's 3 muffler system

I want a performance boost, and about half the volume of a GT-R (others want same - poll) What can I do?

Thanks in advance for your advice.
    2006 GTP Coupe: Leather, Zinik wheels, GM Strut Bar, DoctorSpeed CAB, Custom Dual Magnaflow's / Resonator Exhaust

Get a custom job and get a Dynomax Super Turbo Camaro/Firebird style muffler. I have heard that they have a nice tone without being loud....

John
    Mine - 2006 Black Grand Prix GXP

Comment

My system is only loud when you open the throttle hard. If you drive normal, it's hardly heard. I've been working with performnace oriented combinations for a very long time, and truth of the matter is, that it is the best compromise of performace and sound you'll find. You can't have it both ways. It has the sound of a Porsche.

There is a reason why Porsche's sound the way they do, and its because they found that it also offers the best compromise between sound and performance.

Comment

GT-R I know you know what you are talking about, and everyone that has your system says it is excellent quality and they ALL LOVE IT...